6 California Laws That Business Owners Need to Know
As of 2016, there were over 3 million small businesses in California. Whether you’re a large, booming business or just getting started, you need to make sure you keep in the know about laws and regulations. Things change fast, and at times, some California laws can even be overlooked.
We know it can feel like homework, but take some time to do your research. It’ll save you in the end.
To help you out a little bit, below are 6 California laws about business you need to know. Keep reading to make sure you’re running your business within law.
1. The Box Has Been Banned
Most of us have filled out an application and have been asked if we’ve been convicted of a crime. As of 2018, if your business has more 5 or more employees, you may not inquire about someone’s conviction history until they have received a conditional job offer.
It takes a lot to start a business so make sure you’re keeping up with laws like this if you’re a California business owner.
2. Extended Harassment Training
All businesses with 50 or more employees should already have harassment training policies in place. However, the training has been extended to cover sexual harassment gender expression and sexual orientation.
3. Increased Minimum Wage
Minimum wage has been increasing for several years in the state of California. By 2022, it is expected to be as high as $15 an hour.
As of 2018, the minimum wage is now $11 per hour. This extends to a couple million employees within California.
Ride-sharing applications, like Lyft and Uber, have become popular for nights out on the town. Not only are they great for visitors without a car, but they can also be used when you need to get home after a few drinks.
As of 2018, alcohol businesses and shops are now allowed to pair up with these applications to give out discount vouchers for rides. This is increasing the incentive to take safe measures while drinking.
Not only is it helping businesses, it’s decreasing drunk driving.
5. Past Pay
One of the most important California business laws to pay attention to when interviewing applicants is the law prohibiting the inquiry of an applicant’s past pay and benefits. Some applicants may not feel comfortable disclosing this information.
Also, if an applicant asks, an employer must share pay scale. Don’t forget, contact a law office if you have questions.
Especially during busy times like the holidays, overtime typically occurs. When it does, make sure to pay attention.
Employers in California must provide overtime compensation if the employee has worked over 8 hours in a day or over 40 hours in a week.
Important California Laws
If you are a business owner in California, it’s crucial to pay attention to these California laws. No one wants to face any negative consequences for overlooked laws.
Whether it’s regarding overtime or minimum wage, look at the 6 laws above. Not only will your employees thank you, but you’ll also be thanking yourself.
If you have any more questions regarding business laws or need help, check out the rest of our site.